Work In Progress

Yes faithful tv/film 1, I have neglected you for a while.. but I’m back and ready to reflect. To be honest, I’ve been finding it difficult too use this space as a means of collecting my ideas. Working within such a visual medium, I often find it difficult to express my ideas in writing rather than visuals. As this blog is such a public forum, I also feel that the nature of my ideas tend to transform once I have begun writing. As stated in the first weeks readings, the process of reflective writing is often changed by this process amongst many others. overcoming these mental blocks, I have decided to ignore that this work will be read by others, and try and write what comes naturally to me. We have begun editing our script ‘See a Man About His Dog.’ and although the reading in week 2 by Mackendrick advises one not to write a comedy, it seems that our script has resorted to comedic elements. This may be one of the faults of creating a short film and relying on certain character stereotypes.

Within the short space of five onscreen minutes or rather five pages in a script, I have found that one cannot truley develop a deeply complex character. With all of my story outlines, I have felt that my characters have reflected a character stereotype typical to that genre. This is mainly due to the time constraints of a short film. With this in mind, the cliche of each of the characters often comes across as humorous…. well at least that is what I’ve found in our script. The only way to overcome this is by accepting it and using it to ones advantage. In our script we have achieved this by exaggerating the cliches and nuances of our characters. Our bad ass biker-thug was originally spreading jam on his piece of toast, until we replaced the knife with a ridiculous butcher knife. Maybe our character could be experiencing these things in his own mind? exaggerating what is a purely innocent interaction with a biker, by his own preconceptions about how he should behave?.. I don’t know… I just thought of that idea….

I certainly feel that how you frame a shot, how you structure time and what effects you use can make a boring short film into a visually engaging and enjoyable film. I appreciate this in films such as snatch, which use a fast tempo, awesome visual effects and titles to create excitement and anticipation within its audience. Thanks Guy Ritchie… I like your work

Leave a Reply

