Creating a Korsakow: Life

Like most of my fellow students, I initially struggled to find a plausible connection between all of my videos. After deconstructing them to their very core, I had an extremely significant insight. They all had one monumental thing in common; me. I began to think, as a creator what had I bought to the video? How had I shaped the content?

As Adrian Miles stated in his second lecture, ‘things exist in relations’. This started to become clearer to me as I began to re-watch the videos not as separate entities but as a collective whole. Analysing them from a gestalt perspective my videos seemed to reflect the flow of my own changing mental states, containing moments of utter chaos and contrasting moments of peace and tranquillity. As Certeau highlights in his paper ‘The Practice of Everyday Life’(i) I purely had to ‘make do’. Filming whilst I exercised, studied, worked and played, I began to interweave my ‘modalities of action’. In turn this dramatically affected the mood of each of my videos and the content I selected.

Reflecting on this, I began to notice the moments of peace I had experienced within my Easter break in comparison to the frantic videos I had filmed earlier in the semester. I felt calmer watching the videos that focused on the beauties within nature rather than the constructed beauties of man-made objects. From this concept I was inspired to create the structure of my Korsakow film around a central mantra that could remind not only me but others of the calmness one feels when they simply… Let go.

In our current era, it is often easy to become caught-up in the materiality of the world and neglect to notice what it means to be alive. From this idea I wanted to create a project that wasn’t linear yet wasn’t completely random. It has a message, but how one receives and completes it is ultimately dependant on the user. Through the use of text and the very careful linking of videos, I feel I have successfully created the message I intended. As the reading ‘The discipline of noticing’(ii) stipulates, disciplined noticing takes effort, therefore I have attempted to create a message that ‘develops sensitivity’ within my audience ‘to notice particular things’ and try and ignore others.

I decided to centre my piece around the structure of ‘Life’ as the user makes their own choices, which in-turn negotiates their unique experience and the message they will individually design. As a background I selected an image of the universe, for a number of reasons. Firstly it reminds my audience of the scale of life, showing them the greater picture. It also reiterates the powerful force of nature and how often we seem to ignore it. Just like the immensity and friction of the universe, I feel like most of my videos reflect a sense of this controlled chaos. In keeping with this theme I have also utilized sound differently in each of my clips. Using different sequences of upbeat music within each of my clips, I have attempted to overload my viewer’s senses. I give my viewers reprieve from this stimulation as they reach the videos containing the natural world and their diegetic sounds. Here, I have purposefully given my audience a moment of peace, in support of my overall message.

Although I personally feel my piece is successful, its broader message may not relate to everyone as it so closely does to me. After completing my film, I also began to compare it to others. Initially this made me extremely worried as it didn’t encapsulate the randomness and spontaneity I had seen in most other projects. Containing a unified message, my Korsakow film may not have successfully escaped every constraint of the narrative form, but I have learnt a lot about my own practice.

Also, In contemplating Shields statement ‘everything happens for a reason, and I want to say, no, it doesn’t’(iii), I learnt a lot about my own k-film and it’s existential struggle. For although one can select their own path through the film, the end message and final destination of the user is pre-determined. This might simply reflect my own control-freak tendencies but I think it also summarizes my fascination and conflicting beliefs in destiny.

Finally, In creating this project, I have not only developed the skills to source links between media I initially thought were unrelated. But I have also gained insight into my own nature and work ethic. Furthermore In producing the videos themselves, I’ve also noticed that; less often means more. What I mean by this is that an unedited lo-fi video using natural sounds can often be more evocative then a highly constructed video with music and editing.

 

i. Certeau, Michel de. The Practice of Everyday Life. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1988.

ii.Mason, John. Researching Your Own Practice: The Discipline of Noticing. London: Routledge, 2002. Print. Extract.

iii. Shields, David. “L: Collage”. Reality Hunger: A Manifesto. Vintage, 2011. ebook.

To view my Korsakow film: click below

korsakow film

One thought on “Creating a Korsakow: Life

  1. Pingback: Korsakow Film Reviews | Zoe MacLean

Leave a Reply

