Pulling a Lenny

Recently In TV1 we have been working on a series of extremely short scripts called ‘Lenny’.

In the first Lenny exercise we were given a bunch of different clips from last years students and told to edit them into a logical sequence. Unfortunately, these clips seemed more worthy of an experimental mash-up or comedy rather than a short drama. Laughing at the terrible acting and illogical filming patterns, I overlooked how hard the task actually was. It wasn’t until Lenny ex2, that i realized I was about to repeat the same exact mistakes. Watching these sequences before filming ours was also very helpful in reminding us what mistakes could be made. For example: the direction that the actors are walking in looked like they were headed in opposite directions.

In Lenny exercise 2, we were told to ‘edit in camera’, I was slightly confused at what this meant at first, until it was explained that each scene must perfectly match the next scene in the camera…..It reminded me of the good old days, when there would always be a long awkward glance from the person being filmed checking that the camera was on and ready. With the inability to shout ‘action’ and ‘cut’, the film was a lot harder to create. This task definitely showed me how crucial communication is on a set and especially when filming.

Today, we completed the Lenny exercise 3. Although we hadn’t sourced any extra actors or a first AD, I feel we managed well. I’m extremely glad that all our members showed up today as I feel that this task was a great stepping stone to our BIG SHOOT. It seems that we all work well together and are also great in each of our chosen fields. Helping the director with shots, I did also realize that i think about shots in regards to editing. As I brainstormed each shot, I would place it on a virtual final cut timeline in my head and imagine it being played after the previous shot. This was very valuable in supporting the director and outlining when shots might have crossed the axis or confuse the audience. I feel that editing our footage will be as equally rewarding as filming. For although we overcame some problems with sound( generator going on and off) and lighting (high contrast) on the day, we will only be able to pinpoint all our faults when we re-watch the footage.

Overall I’ve really been enjoying filming the Lenny scripts. For me, this Hands-on approach with the actual equipment we will be using, is the easiest way for me to learn. No matter how many times I read a manual it will never suffice to actually filming the ‘real thing’. Although they are short exercises, they allow us to repeat the motions of filming and become familiar with filming with our groups. This Personally makes me feel more comfortable with not only my crew but the professional and extremely expensive equipment.

Leave a Reply

