Imagined Realities Analysis

This is for TV/Film 2: Analysis/Reflection week 2

This week I read a chapter in Imagined realities by director Pawl Pawlikowski. I found his point; that cameras are overwhelmingly omnipresent in today’s society and so their form must be methodically considered when producing a documentary, a very crucial idea. It seems we are bombarded with amateur, hand-held footage every day and so in light of this we must consider new and creative ways of filming when attempting to create an engaging documentary. Personally, this gave me the idea of filming, similar to the style of Agnes Varda, things that would be symbolic of the subject matter being discussed rather than a series of boring panning shots that display the subject itself without the need to deconstruct their meaning. By asking viewers to engage and decode the meaning of your imagery, you can create a deeper meaning or feeling within your viewers.

I also thought his point about the importance of the directors personal vision very interesting. I enjoy watching documentaries in which the director is involved, providing a subjective viewpoint. So it made me think…. Why wouldn’t others want to watch a film with my personal viewpoint being weaved throughout the film? I enjoyed this idea of directorial subjectivity and the idea of telling a personal story, as seen in documentaries such as ‘The Cove’ and ‘The Gleaners and I’. I feel like it takes a lot of courage to place yourself within the critical realm of the film, but I am interested to experiment with it in my own film.

One thought on “Imagined Realities Analysis

Leave a Reply

